Eliana’s Quilt

100_8779 100_8754

Sometimes I get in these moods were I am ready to take on big challenge.  In this case, it was making a quilt for Eliana’s twin bed.  I made one in high school, and I’d been inspired by the quilts other have given my girls to take on the challenge.

I bought fabric for Eliana’s quilt at the end of September.  Boy, that in of itself was a challenge.  There were so many color to choose from.  I picked the plaid and then found the solids to match.

I had hoped I’d be able to make a quilt for her for Christmas.  Natalie came in the beginning of October, and I quickly realized that Christmas was an unrealistic expectation.  I had an idea of what I wanted the quilt to look like, so I drew it out.  Some time later I borrowed tools to cut up the fabric.  The next step was to show Aunt Marcie what I had so far.  It turned out that my idea for the quilt wasn’t realistic.  I learned the basic idea of needing to have the fabric in rows and adjusted my already cut up fabric to this new idea.  Thankfully, I didn’t need to buy more fabric.  I did have to do some ripping out of seems though.

The fabric then sat for many moon.  Some time in either January or February I began to work on getting the four small squares of solid colors to be sown together.  Then in March or so I got to sewing them into rows.  I now understand the importance of  ironing seams with a purpose and plan for seams that go unseen can become a little bit of a problem when you really don’t know what you’re doing.

I think it was some time in May that I finally got the top together.  Then some time in June I added the boarder.  Then I got all hung up on not knowing how to actually quilt the three pieces together.  I didn’t know how to do it, and I didn’t want to mess it up.  I read some more in a book my friend Jeannette loaned me at the beginning of this adventure and found out that you’re not supposed to use a sheet as the back of a quilt.  It said something about thread count and what not.  Well , my whole plan from the beginning was to use a yellow sheet I bought even before I bought any of the fabric.  So off to the store I went on two occasions with Rachel to find the fabric to go on the back.  Yes, two occasions were needed since I simply couldn’t decide the first time around.

Finally I had the back of the quilt washed and sown in two giant pieces only to find out that it has shrunk to be smaller than the top of the quilt.  Let’s just say that wasn’t the highlight of my quilt making adventure.  Aunt Marcie came to the rescue and said to add a boarder to the back to make it fit.

Eliana’s quilt sat some more since I was still unsure of how to quilt them together.  My niece got married at the end of July, and we stayed at Aunt Marcie’s.  We spent many hours together on my quilt.  We ended up not using the binding I’d precut, because the back wasn’t quite the right size.   Instead we ended up trimming the top board a bit and making the binding of the same fabric as both the top and back boarders.  I now see why quilting bees are a good idea.  Good company helps pass the time.  We finished Eliana’s belated third birthday present just a little over a month after her birthday.

The pictures above show the quilt folded in half and on top of another blanket.  I spent way to long on her quilt to just lay it down on the wet grass.  We always seem to have wet grass here.  Since I don’t have fantastic natural lighting inside, I took the girls outdoors for a little photo shoot.  Natalie spent most of the time trying to eat a leaf.

There was a time when I said I wouldn’t quilt again for a long time.  Now that I realize it could take a year to make one, I just might start on one now for Natalie’s second birthday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

