Gratefulness and a Lack There of

I read a book called One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  As I read along, I decided to write down 1,000 things I’m grateful to God for.  The first day I wrote down 49.  There are some days that I only write down one.  Yesterday I didn’t write down any.  Instead I asked God to forgive me for my bad attitude and to give me wisdom.  Today I started off the day okay and then chose a bad attitude part way through the day.  I say choose because my attitude is a choice.  

So today in another bad attitude I prayed for forgiveness and wisdom.  Although I felt like not writing down anything I decided to find something to be grateful for. 

#487 the passports for Natalie and Kyle are sent off after 3.5 trips to the 2 different post offices

#488 Natalie can fall asleep in the car, wake up when we get home, and fall back asleep in her pack n’ play

# 489 I’ve been working out more regularly

Then I realized that my attitude wasn’t really improving.  Yes I was writing down things that I was thankful for, but I was still missing something.  I decided to not focus on me, but instead on Him.

#490 You are God

#491 You hear my prayers

#492 You created heaven and earth

#493 You are eternal

#494 You are full of long suffering

#495 You are trustworthy

#496 You are merciful

#497 You are the Prince of Peace

#498 You are forgiving

#499 You know what is best

#500 You have a plan

Writing those things earlier helped me to breath deeply again.  Typing them just a few minutes later again refreshed me.  Wouldn’t it be amazing if I always chose to be thankful?  Imagine if the people at your work and your home always chose to be thankful.  I know, I can’t imagine it either, but I can pray for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratefulness and a Lack There of

Leave a Reply

