Acknowledge

IMG_0840“In all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:6

I’ve been chewing on this verse since I read it last night.  I’ve read this verse dozens of times, and yet last night something new jumped out at me.  Acknowledge.  This word has me thinking.  When I pass by people on the street, I may acknowledge them with eye contact and a nod of the head or a smile.  When I see friends, I may acknowledge them  in words or a hug.  But what about God?  How do you or I acknowledge Him?

As I do with people on the street, I should be looking out for Him.  But is it that enough to make eye contact or lets say let my mind briefly recognize His handiwork, and then I keep going my own way?  No, He can’t direct my path if I’m determined to go my own way.  As my friend Kari says, “It is more than just placing your plans before God and saying, ‘Here, please rubber stamp these so that I may go my own way.'” (paraphrased)

So, what is it to acknowledge the Lord?  “Then Jesus said to His disciples, ‘If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.” Matthew 16:24

To deny yourself is to hand over your plans, and desire His plans.  And trust me, for me the planner that is hard.  To hand them over, I need to be in prayer and studying my Bible.

I was thinking about prayer.  Beginning prayer with praising God for who He is acknowledges God.  Thanking Him for what He has done acknowledges him.  Follow that with placing my needs before Him.  It is amazing how as I’ve been working on praising God and then thanking God first it changes how I place my needs before Him.  In fact, often times there is a perspective change that allows me to see my needs in a new light.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

