Spring and Words

There is just something wonderful about flowers blooming.  They are startling, refreshing, and delightful.IMG_1140

Eliana is in this delightful stage where she wants to hear stories all of the time.  Initially she wanted to hear Bible stories.  This gave me an opportunity to practice the Bible story for Bible Study Fellowship.  Here lately she usually wants princess stories.  I’m finding that analyzing those well loved Disney Princesses as a mom is quite different than as a kid.  Ariel: very disobediant, wants to kiss a boy in three days, and her dad takes her consequences upon himself.  Cinderella: about to kiss a man she doesn’t even really know, just caught up in the moment of attraction (yes attraction and not love in my opinion). Cinderella is Eliana’s very favorite princess.  Cinderella and Tangled are the only ones she’s seen since she is easily frightened.  We borrowed Beauty and the Beast, but as soon as the dad and horse are getting lost she was done.  Before the wolves even came she wanted it off.  She picked up on the horse’s fearful eyes and the music, and she was all done.

I was tired of telling princess stories, so I started with, “Princess Eliana…”  Eliana wouldn’t have it.  So now I tell made up princess stories with names like Buttercup, Rosemary, Violet, and Lily that have morals about sharing, learning not to lie, and obeying your parents.

IMG_1138

I realize that I have such an opportunity to teach Eliana at this stage when she wants to hear me tell stories.  It comes with a great responsibility.  I’m reminded of these verses in Deuteronomy:

“These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”  Deut. 6:6-7

God thought it was so important for us to train up our children that He repeats his plan just a few chapters later:

“You shall teach them to your children, speaking of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.”  Deut. 11:19

I don’t want God, the Bible, and prayer to be something we do once a week at church and only before bed or a meal.  She is eager to listen, and it probably won’t always be that way.  I’m working on making the most of these opportunities and praying that the Lord will show them to me.

Just a couple days ago I was convicted about how my time preparing for the children’s program in Bible Study Fellowship has been declining.  So, I’m taking an opportunity during the girls afternoon snack to share my Bible story and hymns with them.  They get to hear God’s truth, I get to practice and be reminded of God’s truth, and my class will benefit.  I consider that a win-win situation!

IMG_1131 IMG_1124

Oh, and here are a few more words Natalie has either picked up or I forgot in the last post: amen (said after we pray, and is super cute), socks, PopE (new today after seeing him on Skype), and cheese!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

