Welcome Charlotte Joy

FB-CJG

Charlotte Joy arrived August 5th at 7:15 am.  She weighed 8 pounds and 15 ounces and was 22 1/2 inches long.  She joined us after 3 hours and 15 minutes of labor.  I am so thankful for the blessing of being able to have home births.  It has been a privilege to work with midwives who care for me and my family.  God has given them talents and wisdom that I am forever grateful for.  Charlotte’s shoulders had gotten stuck, but my midwife was able to care for my needs and Charlotte’s needs in order to safely deliver her.  Kyle was a wonderful support to me once I woke him up.  Since I didn’t know how long I would labor, I let him sleep until the girls were getting picked up.

IMG_6402

I am thankful for GramE, PopE, and extended family who spent the day with my big girls while I labored and then recovered from Charlotte’s arrival.  GramE and PopE had already planned to take the big girls on an adventure to see extended family out of town, and the timing couldn’t have been better.  Instead of being picked up at 8 to start the adventure, they were picked up at 5 something.

IMG_6382

My healing process has been very smooth.  She was quite hungry while trying to help my milk come in.  So we sat together hours at a time until she was satisfied.  I am thankful for Kyle’s help in the middle of the night.  It took two and a half days for my milk to start coming in, and she has been much more satisfied in a shorter amount of time since then.

IMG_6437

Eliana, Natalie, and Lydia love their baby sister.  I was surprised at Lydia’s response.  As soon as she came in the door, she wanted to see her baby sister. She came and sat by me right away and said “Huggies”.  Right away she wanted to hold Charlotte.  That wasn’t how my 2 year olds had responded before to getting a new sister.  Then again, Lydia has been caring for baby dolls where as her sisters didn’t do that until they had a new sister. I’ve heard Eliana singing to her when she cries.  Natalie often comes by to check on her and touch her head, and she loves picking new clothes for Charlotte to wear.

IMG_6459

We love Charlotte tremendously and are so blessed to have her join our family.

IMG_6441

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome Charlotte Joy

  1. Nicole says:

    So precious. Thanks for sharing. I just love baby stories. Praise God for a healthy baby and mommy.

Leave a Reply

